18
Sep
09

Moving down under

Alright, time to go public on what’s no longer a very well-kept secret:

I’m moving to Australia.

In late October my wife and I are moving to Sydney. This is something we’ve been heading toward for years. In the last few months we decided it was time.

We’re doing it for lifestyle and for adventure. We don’t have jobs or a place to live yet. We’re working on that.

I’ve been in London for over 8.5 years. That’s longer than I imagined I might: I think London does that to people. And I’ve enjoyed it immensely. I’m not running away from London at all, I absolutely love it here. I’m sure I’ll wax poetic about it several times here before I go.

Okay, maybe I’m running away from the weather. And the house prices.

But mostly I’m looking forward to starting some new adventures. We’ve been to Oz several times and are getting to know it pretty well. I’m looking forward to living in a country with some grand spaces again, and with a sense of newness. I’m looking forward to sunshine and strange animals and new places.

I’ll still blog, naturally.  I know that’s what you’re most worried about.

Alright, I’m off. There’s a lot to do in the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

