03
Sep
13

Next race: Blackmores Half Marathon

Blackmores Half Marathon crossing the Harbour Bridge. Photo from Charlie Brewer, used via Creative Commons license.

Blackmores Half Marathon crossing the Harbour Bridge. Photo from Charlie Brewer, used via Creative Commons license.

There are two big half marathons in Sydney each year: one in the autumn sponsored by the Sydney Morning Herald newspaper which I’ve done all four years I’ve been here, and one in the spring sponsored by vitamin company Blackmores. I’ve only done the latter race once, in 2010; schedules have conspired against me since.

But this year I’m in it again. So are a lot of other people judging by the number of Blackmores running shirts I’ve seen worn along Cooks River in the last week.

This race is rather exciting because it’s part of the Sydney Running Festival, an entire day of races (a marathon, a half marathon, a 9km bridge run, and a 3.5km family fun run). All of these races go across Sydney Harbour Bridge, making for really engaging and scenic running. I’m looking forward to doing it again.

This will be my seventh half. Training is going OK, but I can feel the aches and pains setting in: I’m not as pliable as I used to be. Grmph. Also the hump of the bridge means I’m unlikely to set a personal best. But I’ve always been happy with anything under 2 hours, and will continue to be.

Year Half Marathon Time (HH:MM:SS)
2009 London Parks 01:50:57
2010 SMH 01:44:12
2010 Blackmores 01:46:14
2011 SMH 02:32:31*
2012 SMH 01:46:23
2013 SMH 01:45:56
2013 Blackmores ?

*I was running with a first-timer.

0 Responses to “Next race: Blackmores Half Marathon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

