25
Jun
11

Taking another philosophy course

When I was in London I felt the need to challenge my brain in some ways that were very different from how it was challenged in my day-to-day work.

I decided then to do some evening continuing education courses at the University of London. I took one short course in the psychology of advertising, but I took several in philosophy, eventually earning a certificate in the latter topic.

I really enjoyed those classes. Writing papers on Spinoza after wrangling with telecom customers all day made for a very refreshing change each week.

My brain could use exactly that sort of break again now. Also, some friends reminded me this week that I’d discussed doing this some time ago but had not yet done anything about it.

So yesterday I signed up for an 8-week night class in Philosophy for Change at the University of Sydney. It starts in August, and I’m very excited about it now.

There are one or two other phil courses they have that look good, too. After those I might move on to some other topic. But I’ll dust off my Heidegger first and see how I go.

20110625-072128.jpg

0 Responses to “Taking another philosophy course”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

