31
Oct
10

Australia: one year and counting

On October 29th, 2009, my wife and I arrived in Australia. We had no jobs, we knew only one other person in Sydney, we had a place to live for just three weeks, and I’d never lived anywhere so hot or venomous.

When I say, “It’s worked out,” that’s an understatement.

We’ve both got good jobs, friends, a house, and a more outdoors and healthy lifestyle. We’re planting a backyard garden. I have a fun car. I’m going to concerts and plays and exhibits. I’m dipping my toe in the social media scene here. I have not been killed by a lethal animal (in fact I’ve not even seen a lethal animal, unless you count belligerent drunks in The Rocks).

As I’ve said before, the only real downside is distance from old friends and loved ones in London, Edinburgh, Ottawa, Toronto, and Nova Scotia. We do miss all of you. But we will see you again, sooner or later. We have room now, you know.

Thanks, Australia. Year 1 has been awesome, more so than any reasonable person might have predicted.

 

1 Response to “Australia: one year and counting”


  1. November 1, 2010 at 10:57 am

    I’m so pleased it’s amazing 🙂


Leave a Reply

