16
May
10

My second half-marathon

I ran the Sydney Morning Herald Half Marathon this morning, my second 21.1 km run. It was GREAT!

It was a good vibe, similar to the London one I did, though perhaps a little more serious. The crowd numbered about 10,000 runners, a record for this race in Australia they said. It started and finished in Hyde Park, and did two loops through the CBD, the Rocks, under thr bridge, and the Royal Botanic Gardens.

I felt good before and during the race. I managed my pace well (and the crowd often did that for me; there are some serious pinch points right through the first half of the race). I won’t have my official time until tomorrow, but my estimate is around 1h 45m, which would be 5 minutes faster than I did on my first one. That feels good, given that I’m 41 now.

I’m really glad that I ran hills during my training. The hills, especially Hunter Street, were killing people.

There are some pictures here.

2 Responses to “My second half-marathon”


  1. 1 designsonlife
    May 16, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    Well done mate!

    aussie


Leave a Reply

