25
Apr
10

Anzac Day

Last night some new friends – recent immigrants to Australia from the UK – came over to our place for a barbecue. I did my part by grilling the meat and keeping their two-year-old occupied, giving the parents a break. It was a fun night, with some good food.

I’ve taken it easy today: I watched two episodes of The Pacific, and the film Moon, all of which were excellent.

But today is also Anzac Day, and I took the time to watch most of the Sydney parade on TV. I also got out, visited a couple of pubs, and saw the throngs of drunken Aussies playing two-up. Things were getting pretty heated. It was an interesting day, and a patriotic military vibe – rather than a sober reflection – that I can’t say I’m used to.

0 Responses to “Anzac Day”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

