07
Oct
09

My last London Blogger Meetup: Mojito Madness

Last night was another nifty London Blogger Meetup; it was also my last.

It was held at Chamucos, a basement Cuban bar underneath the Green and Red Restaurant on Bethnal Green Road. The east end location seemed to stymie lots of people, since only about 35 of the 150 promised attendees showed up. Probably just as well, though, since it would have been a sweaty mob if any more folks had been there.

Judith Lewis spoke about search engine optimisation, and I was asked to speak about my blogging experiences. I am loathe to take the spotlight, but was eventually persuaded to say a few words.

The whole night was sponsored by global Cuban arts and Havana Club rum initiative Havana Cultura, which I’ve blogged about before. They kicked off a competition (a Twitter Treasure Hunt Campaign launching October 19th), mentioned their Gilles Peterson Havana Cultura CD launch  (October 26th), gave away some prizes to attendees, and gave us all the free mojitos we could drink. Which, it turns out, is a lot of mojitos. They also gave us all goody bags of lime, mint, and rum to make our own at home.

London Bloggers has been really good to me. It’s balanced just right for me, informative yet social. Organiser Andy Bargery has turned it into something thriving and useful and fun, and is a genuinely nice guy, too. I hope these meetups continue to flourish; I’m going to miss them.

You lookin at me, punk?

"You lookin' at me, punk?"

Youre getting veeeery sleeepy...and not just because youre bored.

"You're getting veeeery sleeepy...and not just because you're bored."

Hey, bartender: would you mind not throwing those bottles around while Im back here?

"Hey, bartender: would you mind not throwing those bottles around while I'm back here?"

All the above photos were taken by awesome London blogger Peter Marshall.

  1. Twitter Treasure Hunt Campaign (launching October 19th)
  2. Gilles Peterson Havana Cultura CD Launch (October 26th)
0 Responses to “My last London Blogger Meetup: Mojito Madness”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

