24
Aug
09

Raising money for epilepsy and running a half-marathon

royalparkslogo

I’m three weeks into my 10-week training plan for the London Royal Parks Half-Marathon. I’m feeling good so far, with no injuries.

The run happens on 11 October 2009. Remember, I’m doing this not only as a personal challenge but also to raise money for Epilepsy Action.

Epilepsy is the UK’s most common serious neurological condition affecting an estimated 1 in 131 people. Epilepsy Action helps over 550,000 people every year through its range of services including its advice and information centre, branch network and accredited volunteer scheme. The organisation’s award-winning website, http://www.epilepsy.org.uk, receives over 100,000 visitors a month…Over 90% of its income is in the form of voluntary contributions.

If you’re a generous person you can help me reach (and beat!) my fundraising goal by clicking here. That page is hosted by JustGiving, a well-established UK assistance organisation that provides fundraising infrastructure and support for charities. At that link you can contribute via PayPal, credit card or – in the UK at least – debit card. Or if you’re old-school you can wait until you see me next and hand me some cash. Remember you’re not just challenging me, you’re helping a great organisation. Even a few pounds will count.

In case you’re wondering if it’s wise for me – 40 years old and…ahem…carrying a few extra pounds – to attempt to run a half marathon: don’t worry. I’m not putting myself at risk. I’ve enlisted a cyborg from the future, the Timinator*, to run in my place.

Thanks.

*Obviously, this is a joke. If I actually had a cyborg replacement I’d be sending it to work for me.

0 Responses to “Raising money for epilepsy and running a half-marathon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

