09
Jul
09

Setting goals: I’m running a half-marathon

Yes, that title is correct. I’ve signed up for the Royal Parks Foundation Half Marathon, which will be held in London on 11 October.

I haven’t set myself a goal like this in a while, and this seems like a good one. I can run 6 miles a few times a week now, so pushing to 13.1 miles feels do-able. I’ve got a half-marathon training plan ready to go. And the route, which runs through four of London’s royal parks, will be really nice.

The only spots left were for groups and those running for charity, so I’ve signed up to raise money and run for Epilepsy Action.

Image from Ana* via Creative Commons license

Image from Ana* via Creative Commons license

3 Responses to “Setting goals: I’m running a half-marathon”


  1. July 9, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    Dude, good for you. I’m proud of you for taking this on, and at such an advanced age! 😛

    Seriously, though, I applaud your initiative. Maybe it’ll inspire me to pick it up a little too…I’m only running 5k a couple of times a week right now, and with one brother half-marathoning and another becoming a ninja I should probably get my ass in gear.

  2. July 9, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    I haven’t done it yet. But thanks.

  3. 3 Andrew_D
    July 11, 2009 at 1:45 am

    The epileptic brother taking Kung Fu thanks you for picking this cause.


Leave a Reply

