24
Jun
09

Goodbye to the Midtown Tavern

midtown

I spent six years at university in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada, in the late ’80s and early ’90s. One of the places that quickly became a favourite of mine was the Midtown Tavern. It was grotty and old and simple. It was popular with sports teams, the women’s toilet was an afterthought, and men slung beer and cheap steaks to other men.

It was brilliant. My uni mates and I went all the time.

Now I try to go back to the Midtown every time I return to Halifax. The nostalgia is enhanced by the fact that for the last few years there has been talk of an imminent closure. I was there last Christmastime: it was as no-nonsense as ever.

It looks like the end is finally coming (thanks to Dan for letting me know about that article). It’s a move, not a closure, but it’s not going to be the same. I’ll be in Halifax in late July but I don’t believe I’ll be able to visit the old Midtown before it closes.

Goodbye, Midtown Tavern.

0 Responses to “Goodbye to the Midtown Tavern”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

