16
Jun
09

Losing proof

I’ve been encountering increasing difficulty in recent years when it comes to proving where I live.

The default means of proving where you live in the UK (and maybe elsewhere, I forget) is to supply a utility bill or bank statement. If you have to renew your driver’s license, or parking permit, or apply for anything that is dependent on where you live, you’re asked to put in a bill from the last 3 months as proof.

But in an attempt to be gentler on the planet I’ve been systematically opting out of paper bills and choosing electronic statements. It seems a very good idea until suddenly I need to prove where I reside.

I need to do this in the next couple of weeks for my parking permit. I guess I’ll find out if an online bank statement I print out myself will do the trick with Ealing council.

2 Responses to “Losing proof”


  1. June 18, 2009 at 10:29 am

    a print out should do it. i had to do this for something or other a couple of months ago (council tax? insurance?) and it worked fine.


Leave a Reply

