24
Apr
09

The Elephant Man

Despite being a massive David Lynch fan I’ve somehow missed seeing The Elephant Man until this week. I’m glad I borrowed it from a friend and have rectified that.

It’s a gripping story. It’s well-acted by Anthony Hopkins and John Hurt. Being shot in black & white was the right choice for mood. Watching it left me very unsettled for a time afterwards, but that felt right for what is often an unsettling story.

It’s also remarkably touching, getting dangerously close to melodrama; if I hadn’t seen The Straight Story I wouldn’t have thought Lynch capable of it. It’s certainly got plenty of other Lynchian touches that remain in the rest of his work: distorted screams and faces, scenes of smoke, and superimposed faces on the scenes they’re observing, for example.

I feel a little more complete now.

elephant_man

0 Responses to “The Elephant Man”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

