22
Feb
09

Super Sunday

What a great day. I was on my own and decided to tick a couple more items off TimeOut’s 40 Things To Do On A Sunday list.

  • I tubed to Old Street station and walked to the Columbia Road Flower Market. It’s one of the best fresh-cut flower markets in the country, but I wasn’t there for that. I was there for the small side-streets with cafés and shops; and specifically the small backyard down an alley where, each Sunday, you can get Colchester rock oysters opened fresh for slurping. And that’s just what I did: £6.50 got me a half dozen, opened, with some bread and butter, Tabasco, and lemon. They start serving them about 10:30am, and they ran out today shortly after noon (just two people behind me).
  • I felt like walking then, so traipsed all the way down to The Monument to the Great London Fire of 1666. That might have been a mistake, since my intention was to climb it. I only found out yesterday that you even could climb the monument, but you can – at least now, when it opened last week after 18 months of refurb. But it was worth the tired feet, 15-minute queue to get in, £3 entry charge, 311 steps, and crowded staircase. It’s a nice view.
  • After descending I popped over to Bank station and took the tube up to King’s Cross station, then a 10-minute walk to the Harrison. This pub has gone gastro. It reminded me a lot of the Bird in Hand we visit near PC. It wasn’t packed so I easily got a table, and proceeded to have the most substantial and delicious Sunday roast I’ve ever had for £8.50. It was a nice, relaxed spot. They have blues and folk nights here  sometimes apparently, and even the CDs they played this afternoon were great.
  • I tubed back to Ealing and had a quick glass of rioja at Crispins Wine Bar around the corner.
  • I made a dinner that worked really well: pork tenderloin with sauteed onion and fennel, with fennel cream, and a side of purple broccoli. Mmm.
4 Responses to “Super Sunday”


  1. 1 Miss B
    February 23, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    I had an early review of your culinary offering and the recipient was truly impressed! Made my Sunday night naughty takeaway look very bad…

  2. February 26, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    If you like Columbia Road Flower market you should check out Borough Market as you seem to be into your food and drink. The place has a hip, young feel and loads of interesting independent shops. Nearest Tube is London Bridge.

  3. February 26, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Should have added that B.M. is only open to the public Fridays and Saturdays and it’s heaving and vibrant. Fizzles out around 3pm mainly because the masses have shopped and dropped and devoured. Monmouth Coffee is ‘THE PLACE’ to go for a fab cappo, oysters and wine next door too.

  4. February 26, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Oh, trust me, I’m a big fan of Borough Market.


Leave a Reply

