27
Jan
09

Craptastic week

What a difference a couple of weeks makes. It was just January 11th that I was blogging about how wonderful everything is. And now?

  • A couple of weeks ago my employer filed for Chapter 11/administration bankruptcy protection. This is actually a good thing in a way: it’s better than becoming insolvent, and means the company has breathing space to turn itself around. But still, it’s obviously a bit of uncertainty.
  • After a dentist visit the other week I found out that the low ache in my lower molar means that the root canal I had years ago is a bit infected. It’s got to be replaced. First visit on Friday.
  • Coming home last night I had a minor road accident. Speeding up to merge onto the motorway, and the traffic ahead had suddenly stopped. I’m okay, the other driver was okay, it’s mostly cosmetic damage, insurance will cover it, but the bumper and bonnet and front right panel and headlamp need to be replaced.
  • This week I get a letter from Her Majesty’s Revenue & Customs claiming my employer undervalued a housing benefit I received back in 2002 and that I owe…well, a big chunk of cash, with interest from 31 Jan 2004.
  • I performed in a less than stellar way at work today. That happens from time to time, but this was a bad week for it.
  • As a result of the last item, I couldn’t go to tonight’s London Blogger Meetup.

Don’t worry, the moaning won’t last long. I’ll start sorting these things out, and I’m sure everything will be better soon.

0 Responses to “Craptastic week”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

