10
Dec
08

London Blogger meetup: Wine Conversation tasting

I was at Ember in Clerkenwell last night for the last London Bloggers Meetup of the year. It was a smashing event, and I got to see some folks I see all the time, some folks I haven’t seen in a while, and some entirely new blogging folks.

The guest speaker was Robert McIntosh, of wine blog Wine Conversation. Robert explained why he thought wine blogging – especially by wineries – was important, and splurged on several wines for us to try. I quite liked the Kabinett Trocken Riesling 2007 (from winzerblog.de), the Cortes de Cima Syrah 2004 (from cortesdecima.com), and the Vivanco Viura Malvasia 2007* (a white rioja, from thirstforrioja.co.uk). Though none were bad, by any means.

Even better, from those who twittered our tasting with #ttl hashtags (“Taste Test Live”) Robert picked a few folks to win a bottle of wine, and yours truly got one! I picked the Vivanco Viura. I need to chat with Robert again sometime, as I found out last night he got married in Antigonish and had Jost wine at his wedding!

EDIT: Looks like Rob thought it was fun, too.

*Thanks for correcting me, Rob. Somehow my notes weren’t as accurate as I’d hoped.

Robert McIntosh from wineconversation.com trying to teach me something

Robert McIntosh from wineconversation.com trying to teach me something

This nifty photo was taken by the excellent Peter Marshall of Re: Photo. He took several pictures last night.

4 Responses to “London Blogger meetup: Wine Conversation tasting”


  1. 1 Andrew_D
    December 10, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    White Rioja. Thanks bro. I have something new to look for.

  2. December 10, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    a great pleasure to meet you and talk about Nova Scotia (not many say, “Oh yeah! Where exactly in Nova Scotia are you from?” I bet)

    I’ll taste some Jost over Christmas so I can refresh my memory just in case

    By the way, the white Rioja is the Vivanco Viura / Malvasia 2007 which was unoaked. The Dianstia Vivanco Crianza was the red wine – easy mistake to make when you don;t know the grape varietals. Glad you liked it so much and were able to take that bottle home. Let me know your impressions of it when drunk in calmer surroundings – drop me a note on the thirstforrioja.co.uk site


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers

